Collection Dhondt-Dhaenens

The Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens possesses a rich collection of Flemish artists, which goes back to the late 1920s, when Jules and Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens started to collect art. In 1967 the couple decided to have a new museum built to present their collection to the public. The modernist building, designed by architect Erik Van Biervliet, also had to be a place where a variety of cultural and artistic events could take place.

The original collection comprised works by James Ensor, Gust and Leon De Smet, Valerius De Saedeleer, Constant Permeke, Albert Servaes, Frits Van den Berghe, Gustave van de Woestyne, and other artists. Many contemporary artists have joined the collection in the course of time, such as David Tremlett, Marthe Wéry, Marcel Maeyer, Joëlle Tuerlinckx, Koen Theys and Raoul De Keyser.

The temporary exhibitions make that works from the permanent collection are not always on display in the Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens. Consult the website or contact the museum for more information on the temporary collection presentations.

The permanent collection of the museum is not on view at the moment but is visible online through the website of Erfgoedinzicht.

d-artagnan | all for advertising