Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
NL EN FR

Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde

The museum Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD) is since recently flanked by The Wunderkammer Residence, a project by artist Hans Op de Beeck, realized in collaboration with architect Mo Vandenberghe (studio MOTO). Op de Beeck transformed the former Villa Meander, a villa built at the beginning of the 1930,s, into a unique 'gesamtkunstwerk..’ The building is conceived as a contemporary 'wunderkammer' and houses the personal library collection of Jan Hoet (1936 - 2014) while also doubling as a residence for artists, curators, researchers and writers with an (inter) national, non-European focus. Set between the museum building from 1968, the historic Lys River and the former residence of Jules and Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens, the founders of the museum, The Wunderkammer aims to create a space for dialogue, reflection and research within the typical rural context of the museum.

Through Op de Beeck's intervention, the original 'cottage' villa has become a true work of art. The black envelope abstracts the original, almost kitschy 'cottage' villa into a plastic, monumental sculpture in the idyllic Lys landscape. In turn, the monochrome gray interior that has been staged as a fictional 'wunderkammer' invites amazement and introspection. In the library, which covers the four walls from floor to ceiling, various rarities in the form of sculptures form a theatrical, almost cinematic setting for the 'real' collection of books Jan Hoet. In this Wunderkammer the experience of the viewer is central. The artwork resolutely aims at an immersive experience in which both the exterior and the interior enter into a dialogue with the surrounding environment, the coincidental passer-by and the visitor/resident.

In addition to reflection on the museum, its collections and the landscape, the space is open to critical reflections on the resident's individual practice, the art world and broader social structures. With The Wunderkammer Residence, a second remarkable location for residences is created. A few years back, the Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens already started a first residency program in the Lys region. The Van Wassenhove residence, a striking Brutalist building from 1974 by architect Juliaan Lampens, located in Sint-Martens-Latem, has served as a lively residence and meeting place in the area since 2015.

With these new, autonomous free ports, the MDD wants to intensify its contact with artists and researchers and (re)activate the Lys region as a historically important source of inspiration for artists.

Library Jan Hoet
The library collection of Jan Hoet, acquired by the museum in (1936 is housed in The Wunderkammer Residence.

Hoet was not only an enthusiastic curator, but behind the scenes he was also a passionate and even avid book collector. Parallel to his international career, his library grew into an idiosyncratic and extremely personal collection consisting of roughly 4600 books. It goes without saying that Hoet has played a major role in the acceptance process of contemporary art in Belgium, which is also reflected in his library.

The management of this kind of book collection is in line with the museum policy that focuses on the making publicly accessible of, and research into, twentieth-century private art collections with a socially relevant identity in Flanders.

Research and accessibility of the library is currently a work in progress.

Hans Op de Beeck

The work of Hans Op de Beeck (1969, Turnhout, Belgium) is fueled by a great interest in social and culturalhistorical reflection. The artist also questions the difficult relationship between reality and representation, between what we see and what we want to believe, between what is and what we create for ourselves to alleviate our concerns regarding our own relativity and interchangeability. The visual output of this research often produces dormant, treacherous, melancholic or alienating images that lead the viewer into contemplation and introspection.

The Wunderkammer Residence is, aside from his projects on the abbey site of Herkenrode in Hasselt and in the Towada Art Center in Japan, the third permanent immersive installation by the artist. The artwork is part of a larger group of works (so-called 'Locations'), in which the artist manipulates scenes from everyday life, and renders them in large-scale, sculptural installations.

website

STUDIO MOTO

Studio MOTO is an architectural firm founded by the Liege-born and Eupen-raised Thomas Hick (1978) and Ghentian Mo Vandenberghe (1983). Both previously worked at the architectural firm Robbrecht and Daem. The pleasure of designing forms the base from which they explore the tension between the everyday and the adventurous. Their designs strive for subtlety and are fresh and seemingly simple. Their goal is not to make architectural statements, but to design, starting from an existing reality, well-thought out interventions that stand in dialogue with the spatial, cultural and historical context.

website

Exceptional thanks for their philanthropy and loyal support to the museum and the project The Wunderkammer Residence:
 

Het Uitvoerend Comité van het Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens
Frank Benijts, Marianne Hoe, Bie Hooft-De Smul, Jan Steyaert, Paul Thiers, Tanguy Van Quickenborne

Lieve Andries-Van Louwe, Frank Benijts, Stefaan en Isabelle Bettens-Moriaud, Stefan en Bénédicte De Bock-De Pauw, Peter en Isabelle De Roo, Bernard en Lena Dubois-François, Regine Dumolin, Galleria Continua, Galerie Ron Mandos, Michel Goreux en Ria Martens, Familie Jan Hoet, Marianne Hoet, Bie Hooft-De Smul, Karel en Martine Hooft, I.R.S.-Btech nv-sa, Carl en Ella Keirsmaekers, Rudy en Hilde Koch-Ockier, Carl en Dominique Krefting, Jean-Claude en Nicole Marian, Studio Hans Op de Beeck, Jan Steyaert, Paul Thiers, Yves en Isabelle Van Bavel-Van Hool, Tanguy Van Quickenborne, Leo en Diana Van Tuyckom-Taets, Marc Vandecandelaere, Bernard en Gonda Vergnes, Philippe en Ann Verlinden-Timmermans, Axel Vervoordt Gallery, Jacques en Marie Zucker, nonymous benefactors & Banque de Luxembourg


d-artagnan | all for advertising

The Wunderkammer Residence / Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / Photo: Studio Hans Op de Beeck
NL EN FR

Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde
Courtesy Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde

Au musée Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD) est venu depuis peu s’accoler la Wunderkammer Residence, un projet de l’artiste Hans Op de Beeck réalisé en collaboration avec l’architecte Mo Vandenberghe (studio MOTO). Op de Beeck a transformé l’ancienne Villa Meander (une villa construite au début des années 30) en un ‘Gesamtkunstwerk’ particulier. Le bâtiment est conçu comme une espèce de Wunderkammer’ (chambre des miracles) qui abrite la collection de bibliothèque personnelle de Jan Hoet (1936 - 2014), mais sert également de résidence à des artistes, conservateurs, chercheurs et écrivains ayant une approche (inter)nationale, noneuropéenne. Nichée entre le bâtiment du musée de 1968, la Lys historique et l’ancienne maison de Jules et Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens (fondateurs du musée), la Wunderkammer Residence se veut un espace de dialogue, réflexion et recherche au sein du contexte typiquement rural du musée.

Entre les mains de l’artiste Hans Op de Beeck, la villa ‘cottage’ est devenue une véritable oeuvre d’art. L’enveloppe noire a transformé la villa ‘cottage’ d’origine un peu kitsch en une sculpture monumentale au milieu de l’idyllique paysage de la Lys. L’intérieur gris monochrome, mis en scène comme une ‘chambre des miracles’ fictive, invite à son tour à l’émerveillement et à l’introspection. Dans la bibliothèque qui recouvre les quatre murs du sol au plafond, des sculptures constituent un décor théâtral et presque cinématographique pour la « vraie » collection des livres de Jan Hoet. Le ressenti du spectateur est au centre de cette Wunderkammer. L’oeuvre d’art recherche résolument une expérience d’immersion dans laquelle extérieur et intérieur dialoguent avec leurs alentours, le passant accidentel et le visiteur/résident.

Outre la réflexion sur le musée, ses collections et le paysage, l’espace s’ouvre aux considérations critiques sur sa propre pratique, le monde de l’art et des structures sociales plus larges. The Wunderkammer Residence constitue un 2e emplacement remarquable pour les résidences. Il y a quelques années déjà, le musée Dhondt- Dhaenens a lancé un premier programme de résidence dans la région de la Lys. La Maison Van Wassenhove est un remarquable bâtiment brutaliste de 1974 de l’architecte Juliaan Lampens. Elle se situe à Latem-Saint-Martin et fait depuis 2015 office de lieu de rencontre et de résidence dans les environs.

Ces nouveaux ports-francs doivent permettre au MDD d’intensifier le contact avec les artistes et les chercheurs et de (ré)activer la région de la Lys en tant qu’importante source d’inspiration historique pour les artistes.

Bibliothèque de jan hoet
The Wunderkammer Residence accueille la collection-bibliothèque de Jan Hoet (1936 - 2014) qui a été acquise par le musée en 2015.

Hoet ne fut pas uniquement un conservateur enthousiaste, mais, dans les coulisses, il fut aussi un collecteur passionné et presque fanatique de livres. Sa bibliothèque n’a cessé de se développer en même temps que sa carrière internationale si bien que sa collection très personnelle et particulière compte non moins de 4600 livres. Il va de soi que Hoet a joué un rôle important dans le processus d’acceptation de l’art contemporain en Belgique, ce qui se reflète aussi dans la bibliothèque.

La gestion d’une telle collection de livres est en parfaite harmonie avec la politique du musée qui a un intérêt particulier pour l’éclosion et la recherche de collections d’art du vingtième siècle, ainsi que pour l’identité sociale pertinente.

La recherche et l'accessibilité de la bibliothèque sont actuellement un travail en cours.

 

Hans Op de Beeck

L’oeuvre de Hans Op de Beeck (1969, Turnhout, Belgique) est alimentée par un grand intérêt pour la réflexion sociale et historico-culturelle. L’artiste questionne ainsi la difficile relation entre réalité et représentation, entre ce que nous voyons et ce que nous voulons croire entre ce qui est et ce que nous créons pour nous-mêmes pour adoucir notre propre relativité et interchangeabilité. L’apport visuel de la recherche nous donne souvent des images latentes, trompeuses, mélancoliques ou décalées qui amènent le spectateur sans l’y contraindre à la contemplation et l’introspection.

The Wunderkammer constitue avec les projets sur le site de l’abbaye de Herkenrode à Hasselt et le Towada Art Centre au Japon, la troisième installation immersive permanente de l’artiste. L’oeuvre d’art fait partie d’un groupe de plusieurs oeuvres qualifiées de ‘Locations’, dans lesquelles l’artiste manipule des scènes de la vie quotidienne et les façonne dans des installations sculpturales de grande échelle.

website

STUDIO MOTO

Studio MOTO est un bureau d’architecte fondé par Thomas Hick (1978), qui est né à Liège et a grandi à Eupen, et le Gantois Mo Vandenberghe (1983). Tous deux travaillaient auparavant au bureau d’architectes Robbrecht et Daem. Partant du plaisir de la conception, ils recherchent la tension entre le quotidien et l’aventureux. Leurs concepts sont une quête de subtilité, de fraîcheur et semblent simples. Leur objectif n’est pas de faire des déclarations architecturales, mais bien de concevoir des interventions réfléchies à partir d’une réalité existante, dialoguant avec le contexte spatial, culturelle et historique.

website

Un remerciement exceptionnel pour leur philanthropie et leur soutien loyal au musée et au projet The Wunderkammer Residence:

Het Uitvoerend Comité van het Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens
Frank Benijts, Marianne Hoe, Bie Hooft-De Smul, Jan Steyaert, Paul Thiers, Tanguy Van Quickenborne

Lieve Andries-Van Louwe, Banque de Luxembourg, Frank Benijts, Stefaan en Isabelle Bettens-Moriaud, Galleria Continua, Stijn Dejagere, Stefan en Bénédicte De Bock-De Pauw, Peter en Isabelle De Roo, Bernard en Lena Dubois-François, Regine Dumolin, Michel Goreux en Ria Martens, Familie Jan Hoet, Marianne Hoet, Bie Hooft-De Smul, Karel en Martine Hooft, I.R.S.-Btech nv-sa,  Carl en Ella Keirsmaekers, Rudy en Hilde Koch-Ockier, Carl en Dominique Krefting, Galerie Ron Mandos, Jean-Claude en Nicole Marian, Studio Hans Op de Beeck, Jan Steyaert, Paul Thiers, Yves en Isabelle Van Bavel-Van Hool, Tanguy Van Quickenborne, Leo en Diana Van Tuyckom-Taets, Marc Vandecandelaere, Bernard en Gonda Vergnes, Philippe en Ann Verlinden-Timmermans, Axel Vervoordt Gallery, Jacques en Marie Zucker & donneurs anonymes


d-artagnan | all for advertising