NL EN FR

Discover our residencies


©Studio MOTO & Hans Op de Beeck - The Wunderkammer Residence / ©  Juliaan Lampens - Woning Van Wassenhove

In 2019, the MDD offers the possibility of a unique visit to the residences on four Sundays. Visit The Wunderkammer Residence, the House Van Wassenhove and the current exhibitions at the MDD with a combiticket* on:

→ February 17, 2019
→ May 19, 2019
→ October 20, 2019
→ December 15
, 2019

from 10am until 5pm.


*Available at the front desk of the museum.
*The residences can only be visited with the combiticket.
*Visit is without guide.

foto: Tim Van de Velde

The Wunderkammer Residence

The museum Dhondt-Dhaenens is since recently flanked by The Wunderkammer Residence, a project by artist Hans Op de Beeck, realized in collaboration with architect Mo Vandenberghe (studio MOTO). Op de Beeck transformed the former Villa Meander, a villa built at the beginning of the 1930,s, into a unique 'gesamtkunstwerk.’ The building is conceived as a contemporary 'wunderkammer' and houses the personal library collection of Jan Hoet (1936 - 2014) while also doubling as a residence for artists, curators, researchers and writers. Set between the museum building from 1968, the historic Lys River and the former residence of Jules and Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens, the founders of the museum, The Wunderkammer aims to create a space for dialogue, reflection and research within the typical rural context of the museum. Former residents were artists Rirkrit Tiravanija and Nástio Mosquito.  

Tickets

€ 12
→ individual entrance

€ 9
→ seniors (over 60 years old), young people under the age of 26, teachers with card, disabled persons, guides with card, groups of 10 or more

€ 0 
→ minors up to 18 years, ICOM, persons accompanying disabled persons, museumPASSmusées holders, Open Monumenten-voucher, YoungDD/, ClubDD/

foto: Rik Vannevel ©Juliaan Lampens - Woning Van Wassenhove, 1974

House Van Wassenhove

House Van Wassenhove is a house designed by architect Juliaan Lampens and was built between 1972 and 1974. Bachelor Albert Van Wassenhove, a teacher with a passion for contemporary art and architecture commissioned the house. Juliaan Lampens designed exclusively for Albert Van Wassenhove a house of concrete, wood and glass in which all living areas overlap: no separate rooms, but one open space.

After the death of Albert Van Wassenhove in 2012 the house was bequeathed to the University of Ghent, who in turn gave it on a long-term loan to the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens. in the autumn of 2015, the museum started a residency program in the house. Since then, numerous creative people from home and abroad have stayed here, such as Ives Maes, Jonathan Muecke, Rachel Monosov, Tine Guns and Friederike von Rauch. 

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Découvrir nos résidences


©Studio MOTO & Hans Op de Beeck - The Wunderkammer Residence / ©  Juliaan Lampens - Woning Van Wassenhove

Visitez The Wunderkammer Residence, la Maison Van Wassenhove et les expositions en cours au MDD avec un combi-ticket* le:
 

20 octobre 2019 15 décembre 2019
10h - 17h 10h - 17h


TICKETS
 
€ 12 € 9 € 0
entrée individuelle les personnes âgées de plus de 60 ans, les jeunes de 19 à 25 ans, les groupes à partir de 10 personnes, les titulaires d'une carte de guide, les titulaires d'une carte d'enseignant, les personnes souffrant d'un handicap les jeunes jusqu'à 18 ans, ICOM, les accompagnateurs de personnes souffrant d'un handicap, les titulaires d'un museumPASSmusées, Open Monumenten-voucher, ClubDD/, JeuneDD/, Patrons

*Disponible au comptoir MDD, réservation n'est pas obligatoire.
*Les résidences ne peuvent être visitées qu'avec le ticket combiné.
*Visite sans guide.
 

foto: Tim Van de Velde

The Wunderkammer Residence

Au musée Dhondt-Dhaenens est venu depuis peu s’accoler la Wunderkammer Residence, un projet de l’artiste Hans Op de Beeck réalisé en collaboration avec l’architecte Mo Vandenberghe (studio MOTO). Op de Beeck a transformé l’ancienne Villa Meander (une villa construite au début des années 30) en un ‘Gesamtkunstwerk’ particulier. Le bâtiment est conçu comme une espèce de Wunderkammer’ (chambre des miracles) qui abrite la collection de bibliothèque personnelle de Jan Hoet (1936 - 2014), mais sert également de résidence à des artistes, conservateurs, chercheurs et écrivains. Nichée entre le bâtiment du musée de 1968, la Lys historique et l’ancienne maison de Jules et Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens (fondateurs du musée), la Wunderkammer Residence se veut un espace de dialogue, réflexion et recherche au sein du contexte typiquement rural du musée. Rirkrit Tiravanija et Nástio Mosquito étaient déjà des résidents. 

foto: Rik Vannevel ©Juliaan Lampens - Woning Van Wassenhove, 1974

Maison Van Wassenhove

La Maison Van Wassenhove fut conçue et construite par l’architecte Juliaan Lampens entre 1972 et 1974. Le maître d’ouvrage était Albert Van Wassenhove, un professeur célibataire passionné d’art moderne et d’architecture. Juliaan Lampens lui a construit un bâtiment de béton, de bois et de verre, dans lequel les espaces de vie se confondent : pas de pièces, mais un seul espace ouvert.

Après le décès d’Albert Van Wassenhove, en 2012, la maison fut léguée à l’Université de Gand, qui la prêta à son tour à long terme au musée Dhondt-Dhaenens. A l’automne 2015, le musée  a lancé un programme de résidence dans la maison. Nombre de personnalités créatives belges et étrangères s’y sont arrêtées depuis lors; entre autres, Ives Maes, Jonathan Muecke, Rachel Monosov, Tine Guns et Friederike von Rauch.

d-artagnan | all for advertising