NL EN FR

On the occasion of the exhibition Fringe - William N. Copley, Saskia Pintelon & Jenny Watson, we have published the edition NO NEWS GOOD NEWS by Saskia Pintelon.

Each copy of this special edition consists of 100 reproductions of the collage series NO NEWS GOOD NEWS, currently on display at MDD, bundled in a unique artist portfolio folder created by the artist. The editions are now on view until the end of the exhibition at MDD.

In the collage series NO NEWS GOOD NEWS artist Saskia Pintelon (born 1945, Kortrijk) works with the news from The New York Times and the local Sinhalese papers. Both absurd, local 'faits divers' and larger political and social issues, such as the Donald Trump election and the rise of the #MeToo movement, are part of her visual range. Through an almost surrealistic process of misrepresentation, collage and stream-of-consciousness, Pintelon gives an idiosyncratic view of local and global events.

Importance is given to what is overlooked, and vice versa, the banality of ‘big' news is exposed. The strong visual quality of Pintelon's newspapers automatically forces us to stop and reflect. They confront the viewer with news we overlook as a resulkt of the overflow of information and levelling. The edited newspapers are subversive, at times poignant, anarchistic, cynical or sentimental, but it is always Pintelon's typical humanistic-ironic view of her environment that charms the viewer.
 

- 100 reproductions of the collage series NO NEWS GOOD NEWS
- offsetprint on Cyclus 100gr paper in Muskat grey artist portfolio folder
- edition of 120
- each folder is unique and created by the artist
- numbered & signed by the artist

€ 450
 

BUY

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Suite à l'exposition Fringe - William N. Copley, Saskia Pintelon & Jenny Watson, nous publions la série limitée NO NEWS GOOD NEWS de Saskia Pintelon.

Chaque exemplaire de cette édition consiste en 100 reproductions de la série de collages NO NEWS GOOD NEWS, actuellement en display au MDD et présentées dans un carton à dessins créé par l'artiste et donc unique. Les éditions sont à voir au MDD jusqu'à la fin de l'exposition.

Dans la série collage NO NEWS GOOD NEWS l’artiste Saskia Pintelon (°1945, Courtrai) traite l’actualité des journaux cingalais locaux et du New York Times. La série visuelle fait autant la part belle aux faits divers locaux et absurdes qu’aux enjeux politiques et sociaux à plus large portée, comme l’élection de Donald Trump et l’avènement du mouvement #MeToo. À travers un processus presque surréaliste de détournement, de collage et de stream-of-cousciousness, Pintelon propose une vision dogmatique d’événements locaux et mondiaux.

L’artiste accorde de l’importance à ce qu’on oublie et, inversément, fait ressortir la banalité des 'gros titres' de l’actualité. L’incroyable qualité visuelle des journaux de Pintelon invite automatiquement à la réflexion. Les journaux confrontent le spectateur à des nouvelles susceptibles de lui échapper aujourd’hui en raison de la surabondance d’informations et du nivellement. Si les journaux édités sont tantôt subversifs, tantôt poignants, anarchistes, cyniques ou sentimentaux, c’est toujours le regard humaniste ironique que pose Pintelon sur son environnement qui séduit le spectateur.

- 100 reproductions de la série de collages NO NEWS GOOD NEWS
- offset sur Cyclus 100gr papier dans un carton à dessins gris Muskat
- édition à 120 exemplaires
- chaque carton à dessins est unique et crée par l'artiste
- numéroté et signé par l'artiste

€ 450
 

ACHETER

d-artagnan | all for advertising