NL EN FR

foto: Rik Vannevel

five artists from the archives and collection of Jan Hoet

27/01/2019 - 26/05/2019

Marina Abramović, Michael Buthe, Mario Merz, Panamarenko & Royden Rabinowitch
 
After the passing away of Jan Hoet in 2014, the family handed his private collection of books and notebooks to the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens enabling the museum to access this collection as part of her all-embracing reflection on collection building. Since very recently the personal library of Jan Hoet is housed in the brand new The Wunderkammer Residence, a project by artist Hans Op de Beeck in cooperation with studio MOTO, located just behind the MDD on the river Lys.

In dialogue with the family five artists were selected with whom Jan Hoet had a special collaboration during his life: Marina Abramovic, Michael Buthe, Mario Merz, Panamarenko en Royden Rabinowitch. The choice of these artists does not count as a definitive selection, on the contrary: with this exhibition MDD merely wants to shed a corner of the veil on the intellectual wealth that a deeper investigation of this collection could contain. On behalf of MDD, researcher Melanie Deboutte brings together various elements in the exhibition, such as letters and works of art from Hoet's private collection, supplemented with documentary photographic and video material and finally publications from the library.
For each artist, research has been done to define the traces left behind of the collaboration with the exhibition maker.
 
Jan Hoet is a pivotal figure in the development of contemporary art in Belgium. From his appointment as curator of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Ghent (1975) to the founding of S.M.A.K. (1999) and MARTa (2005): he fought with fervent dedication for a place where art and the artist can find a home. Hoet's instinctive approach and the close ties he maintained with artists were typical of his often experiential exhibitions. Prominent projects such as Art in Europe after '68 (1980) and Chambres d'Amis (1986) brought him into the international spotlight, which shortly afterwards led to his appointment as artistic director of DOCUMENTA IX (1992).





 

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

foto: Rik Vannevel

Cinq artistes des archives et collection de Jan Hoet

27/01/2019 - 26/05/2019

Marina Abramović, Michael Buthe, Mario Merz, Panamarenko & Royden Rabinowitch

Après son décès en 2014, les proches de Jan Hoet ont cédé sa collection de livres et de carnets au musée Dhondt-Dhaenens, où ils feront l’objet de recherches approfondies dans une réflexion globale sur la constitution de collection. Sa bibliothèque personnelle est désormais abritée dans The Wunderkammer Residence, un projet de l’artiste Hans Op de Beeck en collaboration avec studio MOTO, qui se situe juste derrière le MDD, sur les rives de la Lys.
 
En concertation avec les proches de Jan Hoet, cinq artistes ont été sélectionnés en raison de la collaboration particulière qu’ils ont entretenue avec lui: Marina Abramovic, Michael Buthe, Mario Merz, Panamarenko en Royden Rabinowitch. Une sélection qui ne se veut pas définitive, au contraire ! Par cette exposition, le MDD lève un coin du voile sur la richesse intellectuelle qu’une recherche plus approfondie dans cette collection pourrait révéler. À la demande du MDD, la chercheuse Melanie Deboutte rassemble dans l’exposition divers éléments, tels que des lettres et des œuvres d’art de la collection privée de Jan Hoet, du matériel documentaire photographique et vidéo ainsi que des publications dans la bibliothèque. Pour chaque artiste, tout indice de la collaboration avec le conservateur est étudié.
 
Jan Hoet est une figure clé dans le développement de l’art contemporain en Belgique. Depuis sa nomination comme conservateur du Musée d’art contemporain de Gand (1975) jusqu’à la création du S.M.A.K. (1999) et du MARTa (2005), il s’est toujours battu avec passion pour créer un lieu dans lequel art et artiste vivraient en harmonie. Son approche instinctive et les liens étroits qu’il entretenait avec les artistes étaient caractéristiques de ses expositions, axées, souvent, sur l’expérience. Des projets d’envergure, comme « Kunst in Europa na 68 » (1980) et « Chambres d’Amis » (1986), l’ont transporté sur la scène internationale, peu de temps avant qu’il ne soit nommé directeur artistique de DOCUMENTA IX (1992).

Pendant la durée de Cinq artistes des archives et collection de Jan Hoet, vous pourrez également visiter The Wunderkammer Residence conçue par l'artiste Hans Op de Beeck.

Heures d'ouverture Les dimanches / de 10h00 à 17h00
Tarif €5 p.p.







 

d-artagnan | all for advertising