Huis van Wassenhove, Juliaan Lampens (photo: Rik Vannevel)
NL EN FR

House Van Wassenhove

House Van Wassenhove is a house designed by architect Juliaan Lampens and was built between 1972 and 1974. Bachelor Albert Van Wassenhove, a teacher with a passion for contemporary art and architecture commissioned the house. Juliaan Lampens designed exclusively for Albert Van Wassenhove a house of concrete, wood and glass in which all living areas overlap: no separate rooms, but one open space. The warmth of the wood and the ever-changing play of incident light shatter the massiveness of the concrete. Basic geometric shapes structure the interior: the sleeping area is a circle, the kitchen a triangle and the office space is a square. But the house is more than just a game of shapes and lines as it manages to redefine our experience of living.

After the death of Albert Van Wassenhove in 2012 the house was bequeathed to the University of Ghent, who in turn gave it on a long-term loan to the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens in Deurle. The house was renovated in 2015 thanks to the support of Philippe and Miene Gillion.

About Juliaan Lampens

Juliaan Lampens (1926) was mainly active in East Flanders. In the early years of his career he drew more traditional designs, but after the Brussels Expo58 his ideals changed decisively. From then onwards he developed totally new architectural ideas and with the design of his own home he resolutely disconnected from the architectural forms of the past.

He focused on concrete architecture and developed a very personal style. His new approach to building and living linked Lampens to the architecture of Le Corbusier and Mies van der Rohe, but there are also similarities with Japanese and Scandinavian architecture. Juliaan Lampens also designed several pieces of furniture, including his iconic stool. House Van Wassenhove, together with the Chapel of Kerselare (Oudenaarde, 1966) and House Vandenhaute - Kiebooms (Zingem, 1967), are considered to be his absolute masterpieces. In 2014, the prominent Japanese architecture magazine A+U published a special edition on Juliaan Lampens. It shows the increasing international interest in his work.

d-artagnan | all for advertising

Huis van Wassenhove, Juliaan Lampens (photo: Rik Vannevel)
NL EN FR

Maison Van Wassenhove

La Maison Van Wassenhove fut conçue et construite par l’architecte Juliaan Lampens entre 1972 et 1974. Le maître d’ouvrage était Albert Van Wassenhove, un professeur célibataire passionné d’art moderne et d’architecture. Juliaan Lampens lui a construit un bâtiment de béton, de bois et de verre, dans lequel les espaces de vie se confondent : pas de pièces, mais un seul espace ouvert. La massivité du béton est adoucie par la chaleur du bois et le jeu toujours changeant de la lumière entrante. Des formes géométriques simples structurent l’intérieur : l’espace de repos décrit un cercle, la cuisine un triangle et le bureau un carré. Plutôt que se limiter à un jeu de lignes et de formes, cette maison parvient à redéfinir notre expérience de l’habitat.

Après le décès d’Albert Van Wassenhove, en 2012, la maison fut léguée à l’Université de Gand, qui la prêta à son tour à long terme au musée Dhondt-Dhaenens de Deurle. Au terme d’une restauration respectueuse, en 2015, grâce au mécénat de Philippe et Miene Gillion, l’équipe du musée décida de mettre sur pied un programme de résidence pour artistes, écrivains et chercheurs.

A propos de Juliaan Lampens

Juliaan Lampens (° 1926) était surtout actif en Flandre-Orientale. S’il signa plutôt des projets traditionnels dans les premières années de sa carrière, ses idéaux changèrent du tout au tout après l’Expo58 de Bruxelles. Il développa alors des idées architectoniques complètement neuves et conçut sa propre maison autour d’un projet diamétralement opposé aux formes architecturales du passé.

Il se concentra sur l’architecture en béton et développa un style très personnel. La nouvelle approche de Juliaan Lampens se rattache à l’architecture du Corbusier et de Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, mais elle présente aussi des similitudes avec l’architecture japonaise et scandinave. Il dessina également différents meubles, dont son emblématique tabouret. Au même titre que la chapelle de Kerselare (Audenarde, 1966) et la Maison Vandenhaute-Kiebooms (Zingem, 1967), la Maison Van Wassenhove est considérée comme l’un des plus beaux chefs-d’œuvre de Juliaan Lampens. Le célèbre magazine d’architecture japonaise A+U a d’ailleurs récemment consacré un numéro spécial à Juliaan Lampens, ce qui témoigne d’un intérêt international croissant pour son œuvre.

d-artagnan | all for advertising