NL EN FR

Natascha Drabbe, Amaryllis Jacobs, Jonas Vansteenkiste with Laurens Otto


Houses for art: how heritage homes interact with art and design
19.06.2021

Natascha Drabbe, founding director of Iconic Houses Network, Amaryllis Jacobs from MANIERA, and artist Jonas Vansteenkiste discuss what’s at stake in organising art and design exhibitions in private heritage houses. The domestic floor plans of landmark architecture – particularly modernist architecture – challenge artists, designers, and curators into finding innovative ways to show artwork. How to bring them into constructive dialogue? How to ensure that the architecture becomes more than mere decor? The talk will be moderated by Laurens Otto.

Natascha Drabbe is Executive Director and Founder of the Iconic Houses Network. She graduated in the field of architectural history at Utrecht University, and has published, curated, lectured, and participated in design and architecture juries at home and abroad. Iconic Houses is the international non-profit network connecting architecturally significant houses and artists’ homes and studios from the 20th century that are open to the public.

Amaryllis Jacobs co-founded MANIERA with Kwinten Lavigne in 2014. MANIERA commissions architects and artists to develop furniture and objects for use. Architects often have a close relationship with the visual arts and artists are often inspired by the spatial environment. MANIERA crystallises these affinities into new design proposals. MANIERA also organises exhibitions in locations of architectural significance, including at Hôtel Wolfers, Brussels (2015), De Beir House (Knokke, 2020) and recently at Roelants House, Sint-Martens-Lennik. 

Jonas Vansteenkiste is a visual artist and curator who works with and around spaces. After studying Media Arts at the KASK, Ghent, he obtained a postgraduate degree in research in the arts at St-Lucas Antwerp. Since then, Vansteenkiste has been investigating mental and physical space in his work. The concept of ‘house/home’ is a motif in his oeuvre. In his recent project Membrane, he recently explored the architecture and stories of the former and current residents of Villa Gaverzicht in Waregem and the importance of modernist heritage.

Thomas Hirschhorn, Sophie Lauwers and Vera Michalski-Hoffmann



Words and deeds
22.05.2021


Artist Thomas Hirschhorn, curator and exhibition organiser Sophie Lauwers, and philanthropist Vera Michalski-Hoffmann come together to discuss the challenges of keeping public art public. Hirschhorn is renowned for his numerous artworks in public space co-realised with the communities where the works were first located – such as Spinoza-Car (2009), currently on view at BOZAR in Brussels. The conversation, moderated by Antony Hudek, will broach such questions as: "How to maintain the collaborative spirit of works conceived in and for public space?" and "What role do private art foundations play in ensuring their long-term agency?"

Thomas Hirschhorn was born in 1957 in Bern. He studied at the Kunstgewerbeschule Zürich from 1978 to 1983, and moved to Paris in 1983 where he has been living since. His work is shown in numerous museums, galleries and exhibitions including the Venice Biennale (1999 and 2015), Documenta11 (2002), the 27th Sao Paolo Biennale (2006), 55th Carnegie International, Pittsburg (2008), Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens (2010) and the Swiss Pavilion at the 54th Venice Biennale (2011). With each exhibition in museums, galleries and alternative spaces, and in his 70 works in public space, Hirschhorn asserts his commitment toward a non-exclusive public. 

Sophie L. Lauwers was born in Halle in 1966, and studied history at VUB in Brussels and ballet in Antwerp. Since 2011 she has been Director of Exhibitions BOZAR and member of its Executive Committee. Between 2002 and 2011 she was Exhibition Coordinator at BOZAR. Lauwers is highly engaged in supporting contemporary visual culture in Belgium, notably through her role on boards and committees, among them of Établissement d'en face, Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens and Auguste Orts.

Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, after studying political science in Geneva, founded Éditions Noir sur Blanc with her Polish husband Jan Michalski in 1987 to build bridges between the cultures and peoples of Europe by publishing authors in French and Polish. In 2004, she created the Jan Michalski Foundation for Writing and Literature in Montricher, at the foot of the Swiss Jura, with the mission of supporting literary creation and encouraging the practice of reading. Among its many activities, the Jan Michalski Foundation organises and funds exhibitions, cultural events, writers’ residencies and an annual prize for world literature. 

MDD Talks #3 - Towards a phyFrederik De Wilde, Axel Clissen & Marjan Doom with Janus Boudewijnsgital museum?



Towards a Phygital Museum?
24.04.2021


Physical exhibition spaces, heritage and artworks are increasingly reproduced and consumed digitally. What is the potential of digital exhibitions and how digital can we go?

In this free talk featuring Frederik De Wilde (artist), Axel Clissen (architect) and Marjan Doom (director Ghent University Museum) we explore the limits and possibilities of the digital experience and its influence on the physical experience of museums, collections and culture. Moderated by Jan(us) Boudewijns (MDD).

Artist Frederik De Wilde studied fine arts, media arts and philosophy. His artistic praxis situates itself on the interstice of art-science-technology and design. De Wilde critically examines the radical shifts technology imposes on society and our
environment.

Axel Clissen is a Belgian architect, designer & educator and founding partner of New York & Brussels based architecture practice Socle. The studio is well-versed in arts & culture, pursues luxury in density and explores physical & digital immersive experiences.

As a veterinarian, Marjan Doom (UGent) conducted research on the anatomy of the circulatory system. Today, as director of the Gent University Museum, she explores the language between science, art and society.

Heidi Ballet, Chantal Pattyn & Steven van Teeseling with Laurens Otto


Resilient Biennials
20.02.2021


The expansionist Biennial model is increasingly coming under pressure. The current pandemic has made considerations of locality and sustainability not only urgent but also inescapable. How do Belgian and Dutch Biennales, Triennials and arts festivals respond to these developments? A conversation with Heidi Ballet (curator of the Beaufort Triennial), Chantal Pattyn (curator of the Watou Arts Festival) and Steven van Teeseling (general director of the Sonsbeek Foundation), moderated by Laurens Otto (curator MDD).

Heidi Ballet is curator of the 2021 Beaufort Triennial as well as of the 2018 edition. Based in Berlin, she is a curator at deSingel in Antwerp. Previous projects include the 2019 Tallinn Photomonth Biennial and the 2017 Lofoten Biennial (LIAF). Beaufort 2021 will take place on the Belgian coast from 27 May to 7 September.
 
Chantal Pattyn is curator of the Watou Arts Festival in 2021 together with Benedicte Goesaert and Peter Verhelst. Pattyn is the broadcast manager of Klara and presenter of the art programme Pompidou. The 40th edition of the Watou Arts Festival will take place from 3 July to 5 September around Poperinge.
 
Steven van Teeseling is general director of the Sonsbeek Foundation and responsible for the overall strategic, artistic and business management of the Foundation. Previously, van Teeseling was head of innovation and communication at the Mondriaan Fund. The 12thedition of Sonsbeek will take place from 10 April to 21 June in Arnhem and beyond.

 

Luc Keppens & Marc Noppen with Ann Overbergh



What world after the pandemic?
23.01.2021


Luc Keppens and Marc Noppen discuss some of the short- and long-term effects of the corona pandemic on culture and other spheres, in a conversation moderated by Ann Overbergh.

The talk takes as its starting point Keppens’ recent book Vaccins in voorbereiding: Welke wereld na de pandemie? in which he addresses some of the changes, adaptations and adjustments imposed on our post-covid condition.

Luc Keppens has held leading positions in the banking sector and is committed to several cultural institutions and social projects. His book Vaccins in voorbereiding was born out of concerns for the virus’s impact on the social fabric and inclusiveness.

Prof. Dr. Marc Noppen is CEO of the University Hospital Brussels in Jette, Brussels, a position he has held since 2006. As part of his research, he has taught at numerous prestigious faculties in the US, Canada, France and Australia.

Ann Overbergh is general director of Flanders Arts Institute since 2019. She was a member of the College of Presidents within the current Arts Decree, a member of the editorial staff of the culture magazine rekto:verso, and a staff member of BAM, the predecessor of Flanders Arts Institute.

Chris Dercon & Philip Van den Bossche with Kathleen Weyts



05.12.2020

Chris Dercon and Philip Van den Bossche discuss the role of visual culture and the position of art institutions within national and international contexts. Moderated by Kathleen Weyts, director of HART magazine.

Chris Dercon is the director of the Grand Palais (Paris). He has been the director of art institutions such as the former Witte de With (Rotterdam), Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen (Rotterdam), Haus der Kunst (Munich), Tate Modern (London) and the Berlin Volksbühne Theater.

Philip Van den Bossche is a curator and writer working in Belgium and Morocco. From 2001 to 2007 he was curator at the Van Abbemuseum (Eindhoven) and director of Mu.ZEE (Ostend) from 2007 to 2019.

Kathleen Weyts is director of HART, the Belgian monthly magazine for contemporary art, since 2019.

Edith Doove & Frank Benijts with Janus Boudewijns



28.11.2020

With the start of the first phase of the renovation of the museum in January, Edith Doove and Frank Benijts look back and ahead to the future of MDD. Moderated by Jan(us) Boudewijns, MDD's collection manager.

Dr. Edith Doove, curator, writer and researcher, was MDD's curator-director between 1999 and 2004.

Frank Benijts has been a member of the MDD Board of Directors since 1980 and was chairman between 1989 and 2001.

Oscar van den Boogaard with Laurens Otto



21.11.2020

Van den Boogaard discusses authorship, the blurring of fact and fiction, and his life in Sint-Martens-Latem with MDD curator Laurens Otto.

Oscar Van den Boogaard is the author of several novels such as Jachthuis (De Bezige Bij, 2020) and stars in the TV-show Latem Leven. For the publication Prelude: Melancholy of the Future, he revisits his time in Villa Arca, in MDD’s immediate vicinity.

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Natascha Drabbe, Amaryllis Jacobs, Jonas Vansteenkiste avec Laurens Otto


Des maisons pour l'art : comment des maisons classées interagissent avec l'art et le design
19.06.2021

Natascha Drabbe, directrice fondatrice d'Iconic Houses Network, Amaryllis Jacobs de MANIERA et l'artiste Jonas Vansteenkiste discutent des enjeux des expositions d'art et de design dans des maisons privées patrimoniales. Les plans de bâtiments classés – particulièrement d’architectures modernistes – posent le défi aux artistes, designers et conservateurs de trouver des moyens innovants d’exposer des œuvres d'art. Comment mettre ces éléments en dialogue constructif les uns avec les autres? Comment faire en sorte que l’architecture soit plus qu’un simple décor?

Natascha Drabbe est directrice et fondatrice de Iconic Houses Network. Diplômée en histoire de l'architecture à l'université d'Utrecht, elle a publié, organisé des expositions, donné des conférences et participé à des jurys de design et d'architecture aux Pays-Bas et à l'étranger. Iconic Houses est un réseau international à but non lucratif qui relie des maisons importantes sur le plan architectural ainsi que des maisons et des studios d'artistes du XXème siècle pour les rendre accessibles au public.

Amaryllis Jacobs a cofondé MANIERA avec Kwinten Lavigne en 2014. MANIERA commande des architectes et des artistes pour développer des meubles et des objets à usage fonctionnel. Les architectes invités ont souvent une relation étroite avec les arts visuels et les artistes sont souvent inspirés par l'environnement spatial. MANIERA cristallise ces affinités dans de nouvelles propositions de design. MANIERA organise également des expositions dans des espaces architecturaux importants, notamment à l'Hôtel Wolfers, Bruxelles (2015), à la Maison De Beir (Knokke, 2020) et récemment à la Maison Roelants, Sint-Martens-Lennik. 

Jonas Vansteenkiste est un artiste visuel et commissaire d’expositions. Après avoir étudié Media Arts à KASK, à Gand, il obtient un diplôme en troisième cycle en recherche en art à St-Lucas, Anvers. Depuis lors, Vansteenkiste explore l'espace mental et physique dans son travail. Le concept de maison/habitat est un des fils rouges de sa pratique. Dans son projet récent Membrane, il a exploré l'architecture et les histoires des anciens et actuels résidents de la Villa Gaverzicht à Waregem ainsi que l'importance du patrimoine moderniste.

Thomas Hirschhorn, Sophie Lauwers et Vera Michalski-Hoffmann



Les mots et les actes
22.05.2021


L'artiste Thomas Hirschhorn, la commissaire et organisatrice d’expositions Sophie Lauwers, et la philanthrope Vera Michalski-Hoffmann se réunissent pour discuter des défis à relever pour que l'art public reste public. Hirschhorn est reconnu pour ses nombreuses œuvres d'art dans l'espace public réalisées en collaboration avec les communautés où elles ont été présentées pour la première fois – comme Spinoza-Car (2009), actuellement à BOZAR à Bruxelles. La conversation, animée par Antony Hudek, abordera des questions telles que : “Comment maintenir l’esprit de collaboration d’œuvres conçues dans et pour l’espace public ?” et “Quel rôle les fondations d'art privées jouent-elles pour en assurer la pérennité ?”

Thomas Hirschhorn est né en 1957 à Berne. Il a étudié à la Kunstgewerbeschule Zürich de 1978 à 1983, et s'est installé à Paris en 1983 où il vit depuis. Son travail est présent dans de nombreux musées, galeries et expositions, parmi lesquels la Biennale de Venise (1999 et 2015), Documenta11 (2002), la 27ème Biennale de Sao Paulo (2006), la 55ème Carnegie International, Pittsburgh (2008), Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens (2010) et le Pavillon suisse de la 54ème Biennale de Venise (2011). Avec chaque exposition dans des musées, des galeries et des espaces alternatifs, et dans ses 70 œuvres dans l'espace public, Hirschhorn affirme son engagement envers un public non exclusif.

Sophie L. Lauwers est née à Halle en 1966, et a étudié l'histoire à la VUB de Bruxelles et le ballet à Anvers. Depuis 2011, elle est directrice des expositions de BOZAR et membre de son comité exécutif. Entre 2002 et 2011, elle a été coordinatrice des expositions au BOZAR. Lauwers est très engagée dans le soutien à la culture visuelle contemporaine en Belgique, notamment par son rôle au sein de conseils d'administration, dont ceux d'Établissement d'en face, le Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens et Auguste Orts.

Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, après avoir étudié les sciences politiques à Genève, a fondé les Éditions Noir sur Blanc avec son mari polonais, Jan Michalski, en 1987 afin de jeter des ponts entre les cultures et les peuples d'Europe en publiant des auteurs en français et en polonais. En 2004, elle a créé la Fondation Jan Michalski pour l'écriture et la littérature à Montricher, au pied du Jura suisse, avec pour mission de soutenir la création littéraire et d'encourager la pratique de la lecture. Parmi ses nombreuses activités, la Fondation Jan Michalski organise et soutient des expositions et des manifestations culturelles, des résidences d’écrivains, ainsi qu’un prix annuel de littérature mondiale

Frederik De Wilde, Axel Clissen & Marjan Doom avec Janus Boudewijns



Vers un musée phygital ?
24.04.2021


Dans cette conversation en ligne avec Frederik De Wilde (artiste), Axel Clissen (architecte) et Marjan Doom (directeur du musée de l'université de Gand), nous explorons les limites et les possibilités de l'expérience numérique et son influence sur l'expérience physique des musées, des collections et de la culture.

Artist Frederik De Wilde studied fine arts, media arts and philosophy. His artistic praxis situates itself on the interstice of art-science-technology and design. De Wilde critically examines the radical shifts technology imposes on society and our
environment.

Axel Clissen is a Belgian architect, designer & educator and founding partner of New York & Brussels based architecture practice Socle. The studio is well-versed in arts & culture, pursues luxury in density and explores physical & digital immersive experiences.

As a veterinarian, Marjan Doom (UGent) conducted research on the anatomy of the circulatory system. Today, as director of the Gent University Museum, she explores the language between science, art and society.

Heidi Ballet, Chantal Pattyn & Steven van Teeseling avec Laurens Otto



L'endurance des biennales
20.02.2021


Depuis quelques années le modèle expansionniste des biennales est remis en question. La pandémie a rendu inévitables les questions liées à la localité et à la durabilité. Comment les biennales, triennales et festivals d’art belges et néerlandais répondent-ils à ces évolutions? Entretien avec Heidi Ballet (commissaire de la Triennale de Beaufort), Chantal Pattyn (commissaire du Festival des Arts de Watou) et Steven van Teeseling (directeur général de la Fondation Sonsbeek), animé par Laurens Otto (commissaire du MDD).
 
Heidi Ballet est commissaire de la Triennale de Beaufort 2021 ainsi que de l'édition 2018. Basée à Berlin, elle est commissaire à deSingel, Anvers. Ses projets précédents incluent la Biennale Photomonth de Tallinn 2019 et la Lofoten Biennale de 2017 (LIAF). Beaufort 2021 se déroulera sur la côte belge du 27 mai au 7 septembre.
 
Chantal Pattyn est commissaire du Festival des Arts de Watou 2021 avec Benedicte Goesaert et Peter Verhelst. Pattyn est la gestionnaire du réseau de Klara et la présentatrice du programme d’art Pompidou. La 40ème édition du Festival des Arts de Watou se déroulera du 3 juillet au 5 septembre aux alentours Poperinge.
 
Steven van Teeseling est directeur général de la Fondation Sonsbeek et responsable de sa gestion générale, stratégique et artistique. Auparavant van Teeseling a été responsable de l'innovation et de la communication de Mondriaan Fund. La 12ème édition de Sonsbeek se tiendra du 10 avril au 21 juin à Arnhem et ailleurs.

Luc Keppens & Marc Noppen avec Ann Overbergh



Quel monde apres la pandemie ?
23.01.2021


Luc Keppens et Marc Noppen s'engagent dans une conversation, modérée par Ann Overbergh, à propos des effets à court et long terme de la pandémie sur la culture ainsi que d’autres sphères d’activité.

La conversation prend comme point de départ le livre récemment paru de Keppens Vaccins in voorbereiding: Welke wereld na de pandemie?, où il analyse les changements, adaptations et ajustements qu’il nous faudra prendre en compte dans un avenir post-corona.

Luc Keppens a occupé divers postes de direction dans le secteur bancaire et est actif au sein de diverses institutions culturelles et de projets sociaux. Vaccins in voorbereiding est né de ses préoccupations sur l’impact du virus sur le tissu social et l’inclusion.

Le professeur Marc Noppen est CEO de l’hôpital universiatire (UZ) de Jette, Bruxelles, depuis 2006. En tant que chercheur, il a enseigné dans de nombreuses facultés aux USA, au Canada, en France et en Australie.  

Ann Overbergh est depuis 2019 directrice générale de Kunstenpunt. Elle a été membre du collège des présidents dans le cadre de l'actuel décret sur les arts, membre de la rédaction du magazine culturel rekto:verso, et collaboratrice de BAM, le prédécesseur de Kunstenpunt.

Chris Dercon & Philip Van den Bossche avec Kathleen Weyts



05.12.2020

Chris Dercon et Philip Van den Bossche discutent du rôle de la culture visuelle et de la position des institutions artistiques dans un contexte national et international. La conversation sera animée par Kathleen Weyts, directrice de HART magazine.

Chris Dercon est le directeur du Grand Palais (Paris). Il a été directeur d’institutions artistiques telles que l’ancien Witte de With (Rotterdam), le Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen (Rotterdam), la Haus der Kunst (Munich), la Tate Modern (Londres) et le Volksbühne Theater de Berlin.

Philip Van den Bossche est un conservateur et un écrivain travaillant en Belgique et au Maroc. De 2001 à 2007, il a été conservateur au Van Abbemuseum (Eindhoven), puis directeur de Mu.ZEE (Ostende) de 2007 à 2019.

Kathleen Weyts est directrice de HART, le mensuel belge d'art contemporain, depuis 2019.

Edith Doove & Frank Benijts avec Janus Boudewijns



28.11.2020

Avant le commencement de la rénovation du musée en janvier, Edith Doove et Frank Benijts se penchent sur le passé et envisagent l'avenir du MDD. Discussion modérée par Jan(us) Boudewijns, responsable des collections au MDD.

Dr. Edith Doove, conservateur, écrivain et chercheur, a été conservateur-directeur du MDD entre 1999 et 2004.

Frank Benijts est membre du conseil d'administration du MDD depuis 1980 et l'a présidé entre 1989 et 2001.

Oscar van den Boogaard avec Laurens Otto

21.11.2020

Van den Boogaard aborde le statut de l'auteur, l’enchevêtrement de la réalité et de la fiction, et sa vie à Laethem-Saint-Martin avec le curateur de MDD Laurens Otto.

Oscar van den Boogaard est l'auteur de plusieurs romans tels que Jachthuis (De Bezige Bij, 2020) et figure dans la série télévisée Latem Leven. Pour la publication Prelude: Melancholy of the Future, il a revisité son séjour à la Villa Arca, dans les environs de MDD.

 

d-artagnan | all for advertising