NL EN FR

Deep dark mountain thoughts (video still), 2020, courtesy: Karina Beumer

Karina Beumer selected for the FABA Artist Residency at the Woning van Wassenhove

Karina Beumer (°1988) holds an interactive artistic practice which stays alive by being in conversation with — or being captivated by — something or someone else. This results in videos, installations and publications that emerge from drawings of observations and unannounced performances. Beumer searches for an absurd and surreal relationship between the inside of the head (thoughts, miscommunication) and the physical world (language, networks). In a dream-like universe she connects banal issues with personal fantasies using strategies of existing structures such as pop songs, blockbusters and live action role playing.
 
Funding for the FABA Artist Residency is generously provided by the FABA Foundation.

Photo by Bo Stokkermans

Bas van den Hurk and Jochem van Laarhoven invited by MDD

During their residency, Dutch artists Bas van den Hurk (°1965) and Jochem van Laarhoven (°1988) will produce a film. The film will involve the theatre director Suze Milius, among other cast members, and will feature textile props recently produced by the artists at the Frans Masereel Centrum.
 
Funding for the residency is generously provided Makersfonds Tilburg.

Photo by Matjaz Tancic

Meta Drcar selected for the Art & Architecture Residency at the Woning van Wassenhove

Meta Drčar (°1985) is a Slovenian artist, currently based in Paris. She creates site-specific performative sculptures that activate architectural settings to promote the viewer’s spatial engagement. Throughout her research, she has been analysing how body movement responds to the various factors of the built environment and, furthermore, challenge the ways in which we observe and experience a given architectural situation.
 
The Art & Architecture Residency is made possible through the generosity of Axel Vervoordt Gallery, Puilaetco, and Eeckman Art & Insurance.

New open calls will be launched in early 2022!

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Deep dark mountain thoughts (video still), 2020, courtesy: Karina Beumer

Karina Beumer selected for the FABA Artist Residency at the Woning van Wassenhove

Karina Beumer (°1988) a une pratique artistique interactive qui reste vivante par le biais de conversations avec — ou en étant captivée par — quelque chose ou quelqu'un. Cela se traduit par des vidéos, des installations et des publications qui émergent de dessins d'observations et de performances imprévues. Beumer recherche une relation absurde et surréaliste entre l'intérieur de la tête (pensées, communication défectueuse) et le monde physique (langage, réseaux). Dans un univers onirique, elle relie des questions banales à des fantasmes personnels en utilisant des stratégies de structures existantes telles que les chansons pop, les blockbusters et les jeux de rôles grandeur nature.
 
La FABA Artist Residency est généreusement soutenue par la Fondation FABA.

Photo by Bo Stokkermans

Bas van den Hurk and Jochem van Laarhoven invited by MDD

Pendant leur résidence, les artistes néerlandais Bas van den Hurk (°1965) et Jochem van Laarhoven (°1988) produiront un film. Le film fera intervenir la metteuse en scène Suze Milius, entre autres participants, et comportera des accessoires textiles récemment produits par les artistes au Frans Masereel Centrum.
 
Le financement de la résidence est généreusement assuré par le Makersfonds Tilburg.

Photo by Matjaz Tancic

Meta Drcar selected for the Art & Architecture Residency at the Woning van Wassenhove

Meta Drčar (°1985) est une artiste slovène, actuellement basée à Paris. Elle crée des sculptures performatives spécifiques au site qui activent des cadres architecturaux pour encourager l'engagement spatial du spectateur. A travers ses recherches, elle analyse la façon dont le mouvement du corps répond aux différents facteurs de l'environnement construit et, en outre, remet en question la façon dont nous observons et vivons une situation architecturale donnée.
 
La résidence Art & Architecture est rendue possible grâce à la générosité de la galerie Axel Vervoordt, de Puilaetco et de Eeckman Art & Insurance.

De nouveaux appels seront lancés au début de l'année 2022 !

d-artagnan | all for advertising