NL EN FR

Residences

In the autumn of 2015 the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens started a residency programme in the House Van Wassenhove. Since 2018, The Wunderkammer Residence, located along the Lys, in the vicinity of the museum, also offers a place for residents. Both residencies aim at a reflective activity within the scope of a research or a development-oriented project. With these new, autonomous free ports, the MDD wants to intensify contact with artists, researchers, writers, thinkers, ... and to (re-) activate Sint-Martens-Latem and the Lys region as a historically important source of inspiration.
 
Subversion is the key word. In addition to reflecting on the museum, its collections and the landscape, the residencies are open to critical reflection of one’s own practice, architecture, the (art) world and the broader, social structures. The residencies want to be creative think tanks in a rural and museum context.
 
The residency wishes to establish a dialogue and exchange between the resident and the museum, its staff and entourage. The focus is on insights, thoughts, encounters, investigations or creations that intensify and challenge our daily museum activities - and vice versa, can be of a distinctive added value for the resident.
 
With long-term stays and encounters, the MDD wants to initiate inertia, peace and intimacy and introduce a break in the accelerated pace of the art world.
 
With the residencies, the museum wants to stimulate cross-disciplinarily within the arts. Hence, the residencies are open to people from different fields and disciplines.

© Juliaan Lampens / foto: Rik Vannevel

The House Van Wassenhove

Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde

The Wunderkammer Residence

Application

The number of residents per year is restricted based on the focus on dialogue and slowness. The residents are filled internally by the curatorial staff of the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens. This selection is the result of the prevailing intrinsic interests associated with the daily artistic workings of the museum.
 
Some residencies may be filled in through application. Interested parties can make themselves known through a brief motivation letter (free format) or through the recommendation of a previous resident. Applications can be sent to info@museumdd.be.
The museum will be in touch, if any interest.
 

Research

If there is any specific interest in scientific research into the library Jan Hoet, the collection Dhondt-Dhaenens or the architecture of Juliaan Lampens, please contact the museum.
 

Puilaetco Dewaay Private Bankers and Axel Vervoordt Gallery support respectively the MDD residency programme of The House Van Wassenhove and The Wunderkammer Residence.

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Résidences

Le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens a lancé un programme de résidence à la Maison Van Wassenhove, à l’automne 2015. The Wunderkammer Residence, située en bordure de la Lys, à proximité directe du musée, accueille, elle aussi, des résidents depuis 2018. Ces deux résidences visent une activité réflective dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche et de développement. Elles constituent des ports francs autonomes, grâce auxquels le MDD entend intensifier les contacts avec les artistes, chercheurs, écrivains et penseurs, mais aussi (ré)activer Sint-Martens-Latem et la région de la Lys comme lieu majeur d’inspiration historique.
 
Le mot-clé ? Subversivité. En plus d’inviter à la réflexion sur le musée, sur ses collections et sur le paysage, ces espaces invitent également à des considérations critiques sur la pratique propre, l’architecture, le monde (artistique) et les structures sociétales au sens large. Les résidences jouent le rôle de groupes de réflexion créatifs dans un contexte muséal et rural.
 
Une résidence invite au dialogue et à l’échange entre le résident et le musée, son équipe et son entourage. Au centre de tout ? Des idées, des pensées, des rencontres, des recherches ou des créations à petite échelle qui accentuent et mettent au défi notre pratique muséale quotidienne et qui, inversement, peuvent apporter une valeur ajoutée significative au résident.
 
Le MDD entend inviter à la lenteur, à la sérénité et à l’intimité par le biais de rencontres et d’un séjour de longue durée et offrir un moment de répit dans l’effervescence du monde artistique.
 
Par le biais de ces résidences, le musée désire encourager à l’interdisciplinarité sur la scène artistique. Elles sont d’ailleurs ouvertes à des personnes issues de domaines et de disciplines différentes.

© Juliaan Lampens / foto: Rik Vannevel

La maison de Van Wassenhove

Studio Hans Op de Beeck / foto: Tim Van de Velde

The Wunderkammer Residence

Application

L’accent mis sur le dialogue et la lenteur explique le faible nombre de résidents annuel. Les postes de résidents sont pourvus chaque année en interne par l’équipe de curation du musée Dhondt-Dhaenens. Cette sélection est le fruit des intérêts de contenu prédominants liés à la pratique artistique quotidienne du musée.
 
D’autres résidences peuvent être organisées sur candidature. Les personnes intéressées peuvent se manifester en envoyant une courte motivation (sous forme libre) ou sur recommandation d’un ancien résident. Les demandes sont à adresser à info@museumdd.be. Le musée ne recontactera ces personnes qu’en cas d’intérêt.
 

Recherche scientifique

Si vous avez un intérêt particulier à réaliser une étude scientifique sur la bibliothèque de Jan Hoet, sur la collection Dhondt-Dhaenens ou sur l’architecture de Juliaan Lampens, vous pouvez contacter le musée à l’adresse info@museumdd.be.
 

Puilaetco Dewaay Private Bankers et Axel Vervoordt Gallery soutiennent respectivement le programme de résidences MDD de la Maison Van Wassenhove et The Wunderkammer Residence.

d-artagnan | all for advertising