NL EN FR

Graphic design Chloe D Hauwe

30.06.19 - 29.09.19


With Schöne Sentimenten, which will be presented this summer, the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens brings the potential of its collection to the fore. In the exhibition, core works from the museum's own collection enter into dialogue with works from private collections which the MDD currently manages or would like to manage in the future. The whole is therefore not a classical, but rather an imaginary collection presentation. Real works of art are combined with reproductions so as to emphasise the importance, capacity and possibilities of the displayed collections.

A particular perspective


The core of the exhibition consists of pieces from the Dhondt-Dhaenens, Matthys-Colle and Cooreman collections, each of which played an important role in the acceptance of modern and contemporary art in Flanders. Together they virtually span the entire 20th century and, as a whole, provide a particular perspective on different styles, genres and movements, ranging from Flemish Modernism from the museum's own collection, to post-war Belgian and American art from the Matthys-Colle collection and contemporary, global art from the Cooreman collection.


       Edgard Tytgat, Herinnering aan een zondag, 1926
       museum Dhondt-Dhaenens / © Sabam Belgium 2019

Iconic works from the Dhondt-Dhaenens collection by, among others, Albert Servaes, Rik Wouters, Constant Permeke and James Ensor are confronted with established names such as Franz West and Thierry De Cordier, as well as young talent such as Sarah Baker and Lucy Mckenzie. The artworks are presented in a number of groups: they are freely combined through substantive connections, attitudes, and aesthetic or formal choices. The labyrinthine, open set-up opens possibilities for new associations and stimulates the imagination of the viewer.
 
Schöne Sentimenten refers to an eponymous edition by artist Jan Vercruysse, which is given a central place in the exhibition. The title implicitly alludes to the beauty, but also the fragility of a museum collection. This suggestive collection presentation, placed in an individual scenography by Maxime Prananto, including the enormous series of posters by Michel François that are hung in and around the MDD, raises questions and provides possible solutions around the future of these collections.

With


Atelier E.B. , Sarah Baker, Hans Bellmer, Michaël Borremans*, Jean-Marc Bustamante*, Christo*, Franz Courtens, Thierry De Cordier, Raoul De Keyser*, Elmgreen & Dragset, Lili Dujourie*, James Ensor, Henri Evenepoel, Joel Fisher, Alicia Framis*, Michel François, Gilbert & George*, Domenico Gnoli*, Mike Kelley*, Martin Kippenberger, Konrad Klapheck*, John Kørner*, Art & Language*, Lucy Mckenzie, Mario Merz*, Matt Mullican, Juan Muñoz*, Bruce Nauman*, Claes Oldenburg*, Cornelia Parker, Constant Permeke, Thomas Ruff, Gregor Schneider, Thomas Schütte, Albert Servaes, Andreas Slominski, Gustave De Smet, Josh Smith*, Jean Tinguely*, Ryan Trecartin*, Joëlle Tuerlinckx, Luc Tuymans*, Edgard Tytgat, Frits Van den Berghe, Jan Vercruysse, Andy Warhol*, Marthe Wery, Tom Wesselmann*, Franz West, Rik Wouters & Lynette Yiadom-Boakye. * represented with reproduction

A significant added value


In the context of the historically-grown sensitivity of the Dhondt-Dhaenens museum to the significance of the committed art collector, the MDD pays special attention to public access, research and the presentation of committed Flemish private collections. Since 2007, Tanguy Eeckhout, former curator of the MDD, has conducted scientific research into private collections that have played an important role in the acceptance of contemporary art in Belgium and whose importance transcends the private sphere. This approach has been reflected, since hat time, in biennial collection presentations.

 The exhibitions to date include the Roger and Hilda Matthys-Colle collection (2007), the Wilfried and Yannicke Cooreman collection (2009), the Tony Herbert collection (2011) and the Jeanne and Charles Vandenhove collection (2013). Later, a business collection was also made accessible, the Proximus Art Collection (2015), together with an institutional collection, which was presented in the exhibition "Walther Vanbeselaere, Collector for the State, 1948-1973" (2017).



      Jan Vercruysse, Atopies V, 1985
      Matthys-Colle Collection / © Sabam Belgium 2019
      foto: Henk Schoenmakers

 
This expertise and these intense collaborations with private collections have led to new forms of collaboration models and management agreements. This has greatly expanded the patrimony of the MDD in recent years. In addition to its own collection, the MDD now also manages a group of works from a number of private collections that represent significant added value within the Flemish and even international museum landscape.

With special thanks to

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Graphic design Chloe D Hauwe

30.06.19 - 29.09.19


Avec l’exposition Schöne Sentimenten , le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens entend mettre le potentiel de sa collection à l’honneur, cet été. Les œuvres phares de la collection du musée y dialoguent avec des œuvres de collections privées, que le MDD gère actuellement ou souhaiterait gérer à l’avenir. Le résultat n’est donc pas une présentation de collection classique, mais imaginaire. Des œuvres authentiques y côtoient des reproductions, dans le but de souligner l’importance, la capacité et le potentiel des collections présentées.

Un regard singulier


Au cœur de l’exposition, les collections Dhondt-Dhaenens, Matthys-Colle et Cooreman, qui ont, tour à tour, joué un rôle fondamental dans le processus d’acceptation de l’art moderne et contemporain en Flandre. Ensemble, elles embrassent tout le 20e siècle et jettent, en tant que tout, un regard singulier sur les styles, les genres et les courants : du modernisme flamand de la collection personnelle du MDD à l’art contemporain et international de la collection Cooreman, en passant par l’art belge et américain d’après-guerre de la collection Matthys-Colle.


       Edgard Tytgat, Herinnering aan een zondag, 1926
       museum Dhondt-Dhaenens / © Sabam Belgium 2019

Des œuvres emblématiques de la collection du musée Dhondt-Dhaenens d’entre autres Albert Servaes, Rik Wouters, Constant Permeke et James Ensor sont ainsi confrontées à de grands noms comme Franz West et Thierry De Cordier et à de jeunes talents, dont Sarah Baker et Lucy Mckenzie. Les œuvres sont présentées selon plusieurs associations et s’enchaînent librement en fonction des liens portant sur le fond, des attitudes et des choix esthétiques ou formels. La configuration en labyrinthe, jalonnée de percées, crée à la fois l’espace nécessaire à de nouvelles associations tout en titillant l’imagination du visiteur.
 
Schöne Sentimenten fait référence à l’édition éponyme de l’artiste Jan Vercruysse, qui jouit d’une place centrale dans l’exposition. Le titre fait implicitement allusion à la beauté, mais aussi à la fragilité d’une collection muséale. Cette présentation suggestive de collection, selon une scénographie obstinée de Maxime Prananto, et la large série d’affiches de Michel François à l’intérieur et autour du MDD soulèvent des interrogations et des pistes de solution pour l’avenir de ces collections.

Avec


Atelier E.B. , Sarah Baker, Hans Bellmer, Michaël Borremans*, Jean-Marc Bustamante*, Christo*, Franz Courtens, Thierry De Cordier, Raoul De Keyser*, Elmgreen & Dragset, Lili Dujourie*, James Ensor, Henri Evenepoel, Joel Fisher, Alicia Framis*, Michel François, Gilbert & George*, Domenico Gnoli*, Mike Kelley*, Martin Kippenberger, Konrad Klapheck*, John Kørner*, Art & Language*, Lucy Mckenzie, Mario Merz*, Matt Mullican, Juan Muñoz*, Bruce Nauman*, Claes Oldenburg*, Cornelia Parker, Constant Permeke, Thomas Ruff, Gregor Schneider, Thomas Schütte, Albert Servaes, Andreas Slominski, Gustave De Smet, Josh Smith*, Jean Tinguely*, Ryan Trecartin*, Joëlle Tuerlinckx, Luc Tuymans*, Edgard Tytgat, Frits Van den Berghe, Jan Vercruysse, Andy Warhol*, Marthe Wery, Tom Wesselmann*, Franz West, Rik Wouters & Lynette Yiadom-Boakye. * représenté avec reproduction

Une énorme valeur ajoutée


Dans le droit fil de sa sensibilité héritée du passé pour la signification de ce collectionneur d’art engagé, le MDD accorde une attention toute particulière à l’épanouissement muséal, à la recherche et à la présentation de collections privées flamandes engagées. Depuis 2007, Tanguy Eeckhout, ancien curateur du MDD, mène des recherches scientifiques sur les collections privées ayant joué un rôle fondamental dans le processus d’acceptation de l’art contemporain en Belgique et dont l’importance dépasse les frontières de la sphère privée. Ce qui, depuis lors, a été transposé dans des présentations de collection biennales.
 
Notons par exemple l’exposition de la collection Roger et Hilda Matthys-Colle (2007), la collection Wilfried et Yannicke Cooreman (2009), la collection Tony Herbert (2011) et la collection Jeanne et Charles Vandenhove (2013). Une collection d’entreprise a également été ouverte, la Proximus Art Collection (2015) de même qu’une collection institutionnelle avec l’exposition "Walther Vanbeselaere, Collectionneur pour l’état, 1948-1973 " (2017).


      Jan Vercruysse, Atopies V, 1985
      Matthys-Colle Collection / © Sabam Belgium 2019
      foto: Henk Schoenmakers

 
Cette expertise et ces collaborations étroites avec des collections privées ont donné vie à de nouvelles formes de modèles de coopération et de contrats de gestion, ce qui s’est traduit, ces dernières années, par une forte consolidation du patrimoine du MDD. En parallèle à sa propre collection, le MDD gère aussi un groupe d’œuvres issues de plusieurs collections privées qui représentent une énorme valeur ajoutée au sein du paysage muséal flamand, voire international.

Un grand merci à

d-artagnan | all for advertising