NL EN FR

Stille Post - A Phone Diary

Stille Post - A Phone Diary is a short film accompanying the lithography series by the artist Maki Na Kamura. The concept is based on the children's game of "Chinese whispers" or “telephone", where one person whispers something in the neighbor's ear, who then passes on what s/he understood (or misunderstood) to the next participant until, in the end, the last person reveals a message transformed by the inevitable misunderstandings.
Na Kamura's edition itself plays this game on a visual level: attentive viewers will see certain elements subtly repeated from one lithograph to the next.

Maki Na Kamura

Na Kamura exhibited at MDD in 2017. Steine legen, Äpfel lesen was the first solo exhibition of the artist in Belgium.

An artistic exploration of the importance and impact of the medium today is the basis of Maki Na Kamura's (Japan, living and working in Berlin) vibrant painting. By using an extremely individual colour palette and painting technique, Maki Na Kamura creates contemporary pictorial spaces. Based on art historical references, she relies on a long painting tradition. In her paintings, Na Kamura assimilates compositions and motifs of classical masterpieces by artists such as Giorgione, Nicolas Poussin and Jean-François Millet but also refers to oriental art history and philosophy. Rather than merely quoting, she searches doggedly for the pictorial qualities and contemporaryity of her inspiration sources.

Maki Na Kamura, STILLE POST, 2018 / courtesy of the artist

Edition

STILLE POST, 2018

Multicolour Lithography on Zerkall Litho VI 300grs in 5 parts in collaboration with Hans Van Dijck studio.
paper size 58.6 X 46.6 / image size ±37 X 48cm
edtion: 20ex. + 2 A.P. + 2 P.P; numbered and signed

 € 6360

The edition 'Stille Post is Inspired by the child's play 'Chinese Whispers', in which a message is passed on by whispering and eventually gets distorted through external influences and language. 'Stille Post' echoes this same transfer, but with the artist's visual ideas.

 → order edition

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Stille Post - A Phone Diary

Stille Post - A Phone Diary est un court-métrage qui accompagne la série de lithographies de l’artiste Maki Na Kamura. Le concept du film est basé sur le jeu d’enfant du "téléphone", où une personne chuchote un message à l'oreille de son voisin, qui à son tour transmet le message tel qu’il l’a compris (ou mal compris) au suivant, et ce jusqu'à la dernière personne qui révèle un message transformé par les malentendus inévitables.
L'édition de Kamura joue ce même jeu sur le plan visuel, puisque les spectateurs attentifs pourront y voir certains éléments subtilement répétés d'une lithographie à l'autre.

Maki Na Kamura

Na Kamura a exposé au MDD en 2017. Steine legen, Äpfel lesen a été la première exposition personnelle de l'artiste en Belgique.

Une quête artistique de l’importance et de la puissance du support d’aujourd’hui forme la base de l’inspiration de Maki Na Kamura (une artiste japonaise qui habite et travaille à Berlin) pour sa peinture vivante. Forte d’une palette de couleurs et d’une technique de peinture bien à elle, Maki Na Kamura représente des espaces picturaux contemporains. En s’appuyant sur des références artistiques historiques, elle s’oppose à une longue tradition picturale. Na Kamura intègre dans son art des compositions et des motifs tirés de chefs-d’œuvre d’artistes tels que Giorgione, Nicolas Poussin et Jean-François Millet, mais s’inspire aussi de l’histoire de l’art et à des philosophies orientales. Elle ne se contente pas de citations, mais se met en quête, à sa manière, des qualités picturales et de la contemporanéité de ses sources d’inspiration.

Maki Na Kamura, STILLE POST, 2018 / courtesy of the artist

Edition

STILLE POST, 2018

Lithographie multicolore sur Zerkall Litho VI 300grs en 5 parties en collaboration avec le studio Hans Van Dijck.
Taille du papier 58,6 X 46,6 / taille de l'image ±37 X 48cm
édition: 20ex. + 2 A.P. + 2 P.P. ; numéroté et signé

 € 6360

L'édition Stille Post s'inspire du jeu d'enfant 'Chinese Whispers', dans laquelle un message est transmis par chuchotement et finit par être déformé par des influences et un langage externes. 'Stille Post' fait écho à ce même transfert, mais avec les idées visuelles de l'artiste.

 → reservé

d-artagnan | all for advertising