NL EN FR

Jenny Watson

FRINGE

William N. Copley, Saskia Pintelon & Jenny Watson

27/01/2019 - 26/05/2019

With Fringe, in the spring of 2019, the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens brings together the work of three painters: the Australian Jenny Watson (born 1951), the Belgian Saskia Pintelon (born 1945, lives and works in Sri Lanka) and the American William N. Copley (1919 - 1996). Hence the exhibition brings an exciting dialogue between three individuals who, with an extremely personal and often subversive interpretation of their environment, occupy a unique place within the contemporary art world.
 
These artists work(ed) mainly outside the regular art scene in Europe and America and develop(ed) an oeuvre that is highly innovative but resolutely defies any classification. Placing their work within one specific style or movement would miss the core of their comprehensive and often daring language of image and form. For each of these artists, the country where they create their work, the prevailing (pop) culture and the political climate form an important source of inspiration and initiate critical reflection. This approach always results in a quirky universe that is both polemic, personal and amusing. At the same time, a strong interest in language and identity, experimenting with materials and a preference for figuration and the narrative are points of interests connecting the work of these artists almost seamlessly.
 
The non-conventional character and the striking themes of these bodies of work are reflected in the title of the exhibition. 'Fringe' refers in English to something that is considered peripheral, marginal, secondary or extreme in relation to something else. The exhibition is in indirect dialogue with the exhibition on Jan Hoet who was an important advocate of artists such as Jenny Watson.


Lecture Jenny Watson KASK School of Arts, Ghent

Interview Jenny Watson



William N. Copley retrospective at Fondazione Prada



 
 




William N. Copley, Untitled, 1991
Image © William N. Copley Estate / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York
Photo courtesy Kasmin Gallery, New York



Jenny Watson, Man in a Coat, 2011
© Jenny Watson / courtesy courtesy galerie Transit, Mechelen


Saskia Pintelon
© Saskia Pintelon / Courtesy of the artist

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Jenny Watson

FRINGE

William N. Copley, Saskia Pintelon & Jenny Watson

27/01/2019 - 26/05/2019

Au printemps 2019, le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens réunira dans Fringe une sélection d’œuvres de trois artistes : l’Australienne Jenny Watson (°1951), la Belge Saskia Pintelon (°1945, elle vit et travaille au Sri Lanka) et l’Américain William N. Copley (1919-1996). De l’exposition naît un dialogue passionnant entre trois individus qui, par une interprétation très personnelle et souvent subversive de leur environnement, occupent une place unique dans le monde de l’art contemporain.
 
Ces artistes évoluent ou évoluaient principalement en marge de la scène artistique traditionnelle en Europe et en Amérique pour fournir une œuvre picturale très innovante, résolument inclassable. En rangeant leur travail dans un style ou un courant défini, on manquerait l’essence de leur ambitieux et généralement audacieux langage d’images et de formes. Pour chacun d’eux, leur pays, la culture (pop) dominante et le climat politique représentent une importante source d’inspiration et l’amorce de leur réflexion critique. Une approche donnant lieu, pour chacun d’entre eux, à un univers excentrique, mais tout aussi polémique, personnel et amusant. Leur vif intérêt pour la langue et l’identité, l’expérimentation avec les matériaux, sans oublier leur penchant pour la figuration et la narration, nous permettent toutefois de rapprocher facilement le travail de ces artistes.
 
Le caractère non conventionnel et les thèmes forts de ces œuvres se traduisent dans le titre de l’exposition : « Fringe », un terme anglais qui fait référence à une chose vue comme périphérique, marginale, secondaire ou extrême par rapport à une autre. L’exposition forme un dialogue indirect avec celle centrée sur Jan Hoet, puisqu’il était un important promoteur d’artistes comme Jenny Watson.


 Interview Jenny Watson



William N. Copley retrospective at Fondazione Prada



 


William N. Copley, Untitled, 1991
Image © William N. Copley Estate / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York
Photo courtesy Kasmin Gallery, New York



Jenny Watson, Man in a Coat, 2011
© Jenny Watson / courtesy courtesy galerie Transit, Mechelen



Saskia Pintelon
© Saskia Pintelon / Courtesy of the artist

d-artagnan | all for advertising