Prive-archief Sint-Pauwels
NL EN FR

Gustave Van de Woestyne, De likeurdrinksters (detail), 1922, olieverf op doek, 109,5 x 99 cm, KMSKA, ©KMSKA / Lukas - Art in Flanders vzw, foto: Hug

WALTHER VANBESELAERE, Collector for the State 1948 - 1973

02/07/2017 - 01/10/2017

This summer,  the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens presents the modern art collection of the Royal Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp (KMSKA), largely put together by its head conservator Walther Vanbeselaere between 1948 and 1973. His ideas on modern Flemish art were particularly influential. Vanbeselaere also had a very big influence on the creation of the Dhondt-Dhaenens collection. Following his significant role in these institutions, several parallels can be drawn between the two collections. The exhibition brings work by outstanding Belgian modern artists such as James Ensor, Henri Evenepoel, Léon Spilliaert, Edgard Tytgat, Jean Brusselmans and Rik Wouters - artists that were very much admired by Vanbeselaere. However, the conservator was also interested in the international art scene of that time. The collection of Belgian art was thus complemented with works from Edgar Degas, Ben Nicholson, Marino Marini and Giacomo Manzù.

For the presentation of this exhibition, three contemporary artists were invited to interplay with the space of the museum. Artists Oleg Matrokhin, Bart Lodewijks and Jacqy duVal interchange with the Vanbeselaere collection through special architectural, coloristic and mathematical interventions.

Artists in the exhibition:
Jan Stobbaerts, Henri De Braekeleer, Valerius De Saedeleer, Jakob Smits, James Ensor, Léon Spilliaert, Henri Evenepoel, Rik Wouters, Hippolyte Daeye, Gustave Van de Woestyne, Jean Brusselmans, Edgard Tytgat, Gust. De Smet, Albert Servaes, Frits Van den Berghe, Constant Permeke, Henri-Victor Wolvens, George Grard, Jan Burssens, Edgar Degas, Ben Nicholson, Marino Marini, Giacomo Manzù, Aristide Maillol, Oscar Jespers
 

Since 2007, the policy of the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens has been to investigate and unlock socially and art historically relevant art collections. Up till now the museum has exhibited several private art collections and one corporate art collection. In collaboration with the Royal Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp (KMSKA) the museum has researched the collections policy of museum conservator Walther Vanbeselaere as well as its significance in the creation of the Dhondt-Dhaenens collection.

© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
d-artagnan | all for advertising

Prive-archief Sint-Pauwels
NL EN FR

Gustave Van de Woestyne, De likeurdrinksters (detail), 1922, olieverf op doek, 109,5 x 99 cm, KMSKA, ©KMSKA / Lukas - Art in Flanders vzw, foto: Hug

WALTHER VANBESELAERE, collectionneur pour l Etat 1948 - 1973

02/07/2017 - 01/10/2017

Cet été, le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens présente la collection d'art moderne du Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d'Anvers (KMSKA) du 02 juillet jusqu'au 01 octobre. Cette collection a été rassemblée en grande partie par le conservateur en chef Walther Vanbeselaere entre 1948 et 1973. Ses idées sur l'art moderne flamand ont été particulièrement influentes et elles ont également aidé à définir l'historiographie de l'art et le canon artistique en Belgique au vingtième siècle. Vanbeselaere a aussi eu une très grande influence sur le développement de la collection Dhondt-Dhaenens. L'exposition présente des oeuvres d'art réalisées par des artistes modernes flamands de premier rang comme, entre autres, James Ensor, Henri Evenepoel, Léon Spilliaert, Edgard Tytgat, Jean Brusselmans et Rik Wouters – des artistes qui étaient tenus en très haute estime par Vanbeselaere. Le conservateur avait cependant aussi un fort intérêt pour le contexte international de l'art de cette époque. Vanbeselaere a alors ajouté à cette riche collection d'art belge des oeuvres d'art d'entre autres Edgar Degas, Ben Nicholson, Marino Marini et Giacomo Manzù.

Quelques artistes contemporains ont été invités à mouler l'espace du musée pour la présentation de cette exposition. Les artistes Oleg Matrokhin, Bart Lodewijks et Jacqy duVal engagent un dialogue avec la collection Vanbeselaere en créant des remarquables interventions architecturales, coloristiques et graphiques.

Les artistes de l’exposition
Jan Stobbaerts, Henri De Braekeleer, Valerius De Saedeleer, Jakob Smits, James Ensor, Léon Spilliaert, Henri Evenepoel, Rik Wouters, Hippolyte Daeye, Gustave Van de Woestyne, Jean Brusselmans, Edgard Tytgat, Gust. De Smet, Albert Servaes, Frits Van den Berghe, Constant Permeke, Henri-Victor Wolvens, George Grard, Jan Burssens, Edgar Degas, Ben Nicholson, Marino Marini, Giacomo Manzù, Aristide Maillol, Oscar Jespers

Depuis 2007 le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens mène une politique de recherche et divulgation de collections d’art ayant une relevance sociale et artistique. Jusqu'à présent le musée a présenté des collections privées et une seule collection d'entreprise. En collaboration avec le Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts Anvers (KMSKA) le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens a recherché et mis en évidence la politique de collection du conservateur de ce musée Walther Vanbeselaere, ainsi que son importance dans la création de la collection Dhondt-Dhaenens.

© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
© MDD / KMSKA / SABAM BELGIUM 2017 (foto: Rik Vannevel)
d-artagnan | all for advertising