NL EN FR

organisation

The museum Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD) is an established value in the Flemish museum landscape. Since 2005, the former director Joost Declercq has continued the vision of its founders Jules and Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens through its two-track policy. On the one hand, as a museum that focuses on scientific research, apprising and presentation of modern art of the twentieth century. On the other hand, as a contemporary arts center through the creation of new exhibitions with a focus on talent development and immersion. Exhibitions from, among others, On Kawara, Sterling Ruby, Charline von Heyl, Maria Lassnig, Didier Vermeiren, Rebecca Warren and so many more have contributed to the national and international image of the museum. The museum also runs an artist residence, The Wunderkammer Residence, and manages the House Van Wassenhove, a brutalist house of architect Juliaan Lampens.
 
In the coming years, the museum faces many interesting challenges directly related to the essence of its existence. There is, for example, the challenge of the current infrastructure and the location of the museum, the possible integration of another museum, handling and disclosure of the collections, developing the mosaic experience as well as the targeted memberships, creating a new website as a comprehensive tool for communication related to the museum’s cultural heritage and its functioning as a contemporary art center.

Job description

As a director, in cooperation with the Board of Directors, you determine the policy and strategy of the museum, both operationally and financially. You are responsible for the overall management of the museum i.e. the artistic and scientific policy, the budget and the infrastructure. You work in close cooperation with a motivated team of 8 people. As the director you will also be the most important link in networking and fundraising for the museum.
 
Responsibilities
General artistic leadership
-Development of a future strategy
-Defining and delivery of the yearly artistic programming
-Development of a balanced exhibition policy incorporating the museum heritage and the contemporary arts
- Knowledge of heritage and collection policies
 
Business leadership
-Establishing budgets and adhering to them
-Compilation of subsidy files
-Fundraising for exhibitions, infrastructure and operational expenses
-Human Resources management
-Image development of the museum (international, national, regional and local)

Job profile

You have at least a master's degree or equivalent level through experience.
You have a driver's license and a car.
You have experience with the making of exhibitions.
You have knowledge about conservation and museum management.
You are flexible, sociable and an excellent networker.
You have a thorough knowledge of the art from the interbellum period to the present. Scientific background or experience is recommended.
You also have a network in the various governmental agencies, the museum sector and the national and international modern and contemporary arts sector.
Following the international character of the museum, in addition to knowledge of Dutch, a good command of English is necessary, French is highly desirable. Or you are willing to learn these languages ​​swiftly.

Offer

Initially a fixed-term contract of 3 years and renewable after a positive evaluation. Attractive remuneration package to motivate a highly qualified candidate (Joint Committee 329.01).

Practical

You can apply for this position by addressing your motivation letter and CV to the nomination committee no later than December 15, 2019. Kindly send to nathalie.depauw@musemdd.be.

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

organisation

Le musée Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD) fait office de valeur sûre dans le paysage muséal flamand. Depuis 2005, l’ancien directeur Joost Declercq a honoré la mémoire des fondateurs, M. et Mme Dhondt-Dhaenens, dans le cadre d’une politique à double voie : d’une part, la recherche, l’actualisation et la présentation d’œuvres d’art moderne du XXe siècle et, d’autre part, le rôle de centre d’art contemporain via la production de nouvelles expositions et l’accent mis sur le développement du talent et l’immersion. Les expositions d’artistes comme On Kawara, Sterling Ruby, Charline von Heyl, Maria Lassnig, Didier Vermeiren et Rebecca Warren ont contribué à forger la renommée nationale et internationale du musée. Le musée gère également une résidence d’artistes, The Wunderkammer Residence, ainsi que la Maison Van Wassenhove.
 
Le musée va devoir relever de nombreux défis intéressants dans les années à venir. Défis en lien direct avec l’essence même de son existence. Épinglons le problème des infrastructures et de l’emplacement du musée, l’intégration potentielle à un autre musée, la gestion et l’ouverture des collections au public, le développement de l’expérience en mosaïque, le lancement d’un fonctionnement public ciblé ainsi que la création et le développement d’un site web en tant qu’outil à part entière pour la communication, la construction du patrimoine et l’art contemporain.

Description de la fonction

En votre qualité de directeur, vous définissez, en concertation avec le conseil d’administration, la politique et la stratégie du musée sur les plans opérationnel et financier. Vous assurez la direction générale du musée : vous êtes responsable de la politique artistique et scientifique, des budgets et des infrastructures, le tout en étroite collaboration avec une équipe de 8 collaborateurs motivés. Vous êtes aussi le maillon principal de nos activités de réseautage et de collecte de fonds au profit du musée.
 
Responsabilités

Direction artistique générale
- Définition d’une stratégie d’avenir
- Élaboration et mise en œuvre de la programmation
- Mise en place d’une politique d’exposition équilibrée entre le patrimoine du musée et l’art contemporain
- Connaissance de la politique en matière de patrimoine et de collection
 
Direction commerciale
- Élaboration et respect des budgets
- Dossiers de subvention
- Collecte de fonds au profit des expositions, des infrastructures et du fonctionnement
- Gestion du personnel
- Image du musée (aux niveaux international, national, régional et local)

Profil

Vous possédez au moins un diplôme de master ou justifiez d’une expérience similaire.
Vous êtes titulaire d’un permis de conduire et avez une voiture.
Vous avez de l’expérience en organisation d’expositions.
Vous disposez de connaissances en conservation et gestion de musées.
Vous êtes flexible, sociable et vous nouez aisément des contacts.
Vous connaissez parfaitement l’art de l’entre-deux-guerres à nos jours. Un bagage ou une expérience scientifique est un atout.
Vous avez des contacts dans différentes administrations, sur la scène muséale et dans le secteur national et international de l’art moderne et contemporain.
Vu le caractère international du musée, des connaissances en anglais sont indispensables et des connaissances en français sont souhaitables, en marge du néerlandais. À défaut, vous êtes disposé à apprendre ces langues à court terme.

Offre

Dans un premier temps : contrat à durée déterminée de 3 ans, prolongeable à l’issue d’une évaluation positive. Rémunération attractive, suffisamment élevée pour motiver un candidat qualifié (commission paritaire 329.1).

Infos pratiques

Vous avez jusqu’au 15 décembre 2019 pour poser votre candidature en envoyant votre CV et votre lettre de motivation à nathalie.depauw@musemdd.be, à l’attention du comité de nomination.
 

d-artagnan | all for advertising