NL EN FR

Gust. De Smet Het Dorpsmeisje, 1930 Collectie Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Portretten van een collectie

26/07/2020 - 18/10/2020

As part of the Biennale of Painting - Inner Spaces MDD presents an exhibition in the crypt of the Town Hall of Sint-Martens-Latem with works from the museum's collection.
 
This collection was put together by Jules and Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens, the founders of the museum and contains works by important artists from the different generations of the Latem artist groups, known as the 'Latem Schools', as well as works by artists from their circle of friends.
 
By taking portraits as its theme, this exhibition examines the extent to which portraits often engage in a struggle between the model's exterior or appearance on the one hand, and her or his or her inner self and psychology on the other.
It is the balance or imbalance between these contrasts that make certain portraits impressive and memorable.
 
An exhibition of portraits from a private collection is also a portrait in itself, of the collector's taste, the zeitgeist, but also of the network they build between artists, fellow collectors, gallery owners and friends over the years. This exhibition is a step in the direction of making MDD's history more public and accessible, and opening it up to reinterpretation and the gaze of new generations of visitors and artists.
 

→ Dorp 1, 9830 Sint-Martens-Latem⎜tu - su⎜10am - 5pm
→ free entrance

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Gust. De Smet Het Dorpsmeisje, 1930 Collectie Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Portretten van een collectie

26/07/2020 - 18/10/2020

Dans le cadre de la Biennale de peinture – Huis clos, le Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens présente une exposition dans la crypte de la maison communale de la ville avec des œuvres de la collection principale du musée.
 
Cette collection a été constituée par Jules et Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens, les fondateurs du MDD, et comprend des œuvres d'artistes importants de différentes générations de groupes d'artistes de Latem, connus sous le nom d'écoles de Latem", ainsi que des œuvres par certaines artistes de leur cercle d'amis.
 
En prenant le portrait comme fil conducteur, cette exposition sonde dans quelle mesure les portraits sont souvent des combats entre, d’une part, lextériorité et l’apparence du modèle, et d’autre part son intériorité et sa psychologie. C'est l'équilibre ou le déséquilibre, entre ces contrastes qui peut render certains portraits obsédants et mémorables.
 
Une exposition de portraits à partir d’une collection privée est aussi un portrait en soi des goûts du collectionneur, de son époque, mais aussi des réseaux qu’ils ont construits au fil des années entre artistes, confrères collectionneurs, galeristes et amis. Cette exposition est ainsi une démarcha pour exposer l’histoire de MDD plus publique et inclusive et ouvert à la réinterprétation et au regard des nouvelles générations de visiteurs et d'artistes.

360° TOUR

d-artagnan | all for advertising