NL EN FR

MDD Talks #4 - Words and deeds

22/05/2021 - 22/05/2021

A conversation between Thomas Hirschhorn, Sophie Lauwers and Vera Michalski-Hoffmann.

Artist Thomas Hirschhorn, curator and exhibition organiser Sophie Lauwers, and philanthropist Vera Michalski-Hoffmann come together to discuss the challenges of keeping public art public. Hirschhorn is renowned for his numerous artworks in public space co-realised with the communities where the works were first located – such as Spinoza-Car (2009), currently on view at BOZAR in Brussels. The conversation, moderated by Antony Hudek, will broach such questions as: "How to maintain the collaborative spirit of works conceived in and for public space?" and "What role do private art foundations play in ensuring their long-term agency?"

Thomas Hirschhorn was born in 1957 in Bern. He studied at the Kunstgewerbeschule Zürich from 1978 to 1983, and moved to Paris in 1983 where he has been living since. His work is shown in numerous museums, galleries and exhibitions including the Venice Biennale (1999 and 2015), Documenta11 (2002), the 27th Sao Paolo Biennale (2006), 55th Carnegie International, Pittsburg (2008), Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens (2010) and the Swiss Pavilion at the 54th Venice Biennale (2011). With each exhibition in museums, galleries and alternative spaces, and in his 70 works in public space, Hirschhorn asserts his commitment toward a non-exclusive public. 

Sophie L. Lauwers was born in Halle in 1966, and studied history at VUB in Brussels and ballet in Antwerp. Since 2011 she has been Director of Exhibitions BOZAR and member of its Executive Committee. Between 2002 and 2011 she was Exhibition Coordinator at BOZAR. Lauwers is highly engaged in supporting contemporary visual culture in Belgium, notably through her role on boards and committees, among them of Établissement d'en face, Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens and Auguste Orts.

Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, after studying political science in Geneva, founded Éditions Noir sur Blanc with her Polish husband Jan Michalski in 1987 to build bridges between the cultures and peoples of Europe by publishing authors in French and Polish. In 2004, she created the Jan Michalski Foundation for Writing and Literature in Montricher, at the foot of the Swiss Jura, with the mission of supporting literary creation and encouraging the practice of reading. Among its many activities, the Jan Michalski Foundation organises and funds exhibitions, cultural events, writers’ residencies and an annual prize for world literature. 

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

MDD Talks #4 - Les mots et les actes

22/05/2021 - 22/05/2021

Une conversation entre Thomas Hirschhorn, Sophie Lauwers et Vera Michalski-Hoffmann.

L'artiste Thomas Hirschhorn, la commissaire et organisatrice d’expositions Sophie Lauwers, et la philanthrope Vera Michalski-Hoffmann se réunissent pour discuter des défis à relever pour que l'art public reste public. Hirschhorn est reconnu pour ses nombreuses œuvres d'art dans l'espace public réalisées en collaboration avec les communautés où elles ont été présentées pour la première fois – comme Spinoza-Car (2009), actuellement à BOZAR à Bruxelles. La conversation, animée par Antony Hudek, abordera des questions telles que : “Comment maintenir l’esprit de collaboration d’œuvres conçues dans et pour l’espace public ?” et “Quel rôle les fondations d'art privées jouent-elles pour en assurer la pérennité ?”

Thomas Hirschhorn est né en 1957 à Berne. Il a étudié à la Kunstgewerbeschule Zürich de 1978 à 1983, et s'est installé à Paris en 1983 où il vit depuis. Son travail est présent dans de nombreux musées, galeries et expositions, parmi lesquels la Biennale de Venise (1999 et 2015), Documenta11 (2002), la 27ème Biennale de Sao Paulo (2006), la 55ème Carnegie International, Pittsburgh (2008), Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens (2010) et le Pavillon suisse de la 54ème Biennale de Venise (2011). Avec chaque exposition dans des musées, des galeries et des espaces alternatifs, et dans ses 70 œuvres dans l'espace public, Hirschhorn affirme son engagement envers un public non exclusif.

Sophie L. Lauwers est née à Halle en 1966, et a étudié l'histoire à la VUB de Bruxelles et le ballet à Anvers. Depuis 2011, elle est directrice des expositions de BOZAR et membre de son comité exécutif. Entre 2002 et 2011, elle a été coordinatrice des expositions au BOZAR. Lauwers est très engagée dans le soutien à la culture visuelle contemporaine en Belgique, notamment par son rôle au sein de conseils d'administration, dont ceux d'Établissement d'en face, le Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens et Auguste Orts.

Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, après avoir étudié les sciences politiques à Genève, a fondé les Éditions Noir sur Blanc avec son mari polonais, Jan Michalski, en 1987 afin de jeter des ponts entre les cultures et les peuples d'Europe en publiant des auteurs en français et en polonais. En 2004, elle a créé la Fondation Jan Michalski pour l'écriture et la littérature à Montricher, au pied du Jura suisse, avec pour mission de soutenir la création littéraire et d'encourager la pratique de la lecture. Parmi ses nombreuses activités, la Fondation Jan Michalski organise et soutient des expositions et des manifestations culturelles, des résidences d’écrivains, ainsi qu’un prix annuel de littérature mondiale

d-artagnan | all for advertising