NL EN FR

Jonas Vansteenkiste, Membrane (2021) Villa Gaverzicht / foto: Dirk Pauwels

MDD Talks #5 - Houses for art

19/06/2021 - 19/06/2021

Houses for art: how heritage homes interact with art and design

Natascha Drabbe
, founding director of Iconic Houses Network, Amaryllis Jacobs from MANIERA, and artist Jonas Vansteenkiste discuss what’s at stake in organising art and design exhibitions in private heritage houses. The domestic floor plans of landmark architecture – particularly modernist architecture – challenge artists, designers, and curators into finding innovative ways to show artwork. How to bring them into constructive dialogue? How to ensure that the architecture becomes more than mere decor? The talk will be moderated by Laurens Otto.

Natascha Drabbe is Executive Director and Founder of the Iconic Houses Network. She graduated in the field of architectural history at Utrecht University, and has published, curated, lectured, and participated in design and architecture juries at home and abroad. Iconic Houses is the international non-profit network connecting architecturally significant houses and artists’ homes and studios from the 20th century that are open to the public.

Amaryllis Jacobs co-founded MANIERA with Kwinten Lavigne in 2014. MANIERA commissions architects and artists to develop furniture and objects for use. Architects often have a close relationship with the visual arts and artists are often inspired by the spatial environment. MANIERA crystallises these affinities into new design proposals. MANIERA also organises exhibitions in locations of architectural significance, including at Hôtel Wolfers, Brussels (2015), De Beir House (Knokke, 2020) and recently at Roelants House, Sint-Martens-Lennik. 

Jonas Vansteenkiste is a visual artist and curator who works with and around spaces. After studying Media Arts at the KASK, Ghent, he obtained a postgraduate degree in research in the arts at St-Lucas Antwerp. Since then, Vansteenkiste has been investigating mental and physical space in his work. The concept of ‘house/home’ is a motif in his oeuvre. In his recent project Membrane, he recently explored the architecture and stories of the former and current residents of Villa Gaverzicht in Waregem and the importance of modernist heritage.

d-artagnan | all for advertising

NL EN FR

Jonas Vansteenkiste, Membrane (2021) Villa Gaverzicht / foto: Dirk Pauwels

MDD Talks #5 - Des maisons pour l`art

19/06/2021 - 19/06/2021

Des maisons pour l'art : comment des maisons classées interagissent avec l'art et le design

Natascha Drabbe
, directrice fondatrice d'Iconic Houses Network, Amaryllis Jacobs de MANIERA et l'artiste Jonas Vansteenkiste discutent des enjeux des expositions d'art et de design dans des maisons privées patrimoniales. Les plans de bâtiments classés – particulièrement d’architectures modernistes – posent le défi aux artistes, designers et conservateurs de trouver des moyens innovants d’exposer des œuvres d'art. Comment mettre ces éléments en dialogue constructif les uns avec les autres? Comment faire en sorte que l’architecture soit plus qu’un simple décor? Animé par Laurens Otto.

Natascha Drabbe est directrice et fondatrice de Iconic Houses Network. Diplômée en histoire de l'architecture à l'université d'Utrecht, elle a publié, organisé des expositions, donné des conférences et participé à des jurys de design et d'architecture aux Pays-Bas et à l'étranger. Iconic Houses est un réseau international à but non lucratif qui relie des maisons importantes sur le plan architectural ainsi que des maisons et des studios d'artistes du XXème siècle pour les rendre accessibles au public.

Amaryllis Jacobs a cofondé MANIERA avec Kwinten Lavigne en 2014. MANIERA commande des architectes et des artistes pour développer des meubles et des objets à usage fonctionnel. Les architectes invités ont souvent une relation étroite avec les arts visuels et les artistes sont souvent inspirés par l'environnement spatial. MANIERA cristallise ces affinités dans de nouvelles propositions de design. MANIERA organise également des expositions dans des espaces architecturaux importants, notamment à l'Hôtel Wolfers, Bruxelles (2015), à la Maison De Beir (Knokke, 2020) et récemment à la Maison Roelants, Sint-Martens-Lennik. 

Jonas Vansteenkiste est un artiste visuel et commissaire d’expositions. Après avoir étudié Media Arts à KASK, à Gand, il obtient un diplôme en troisième cycle en recherche en art à St-Lucas, Anvers. Depuis lors, Vansteenkiste explore l'espace mental et physique dans son travail. Le concept de maison/habitat est un des fils rouges de sa pratique. Dans son projet récent Membrane, il a exploré l'architecture et les histoires des anciens et actuels résidents de la Villa Gaverzicht à Waregem ainsi que l'importance du patrimoine moderniste.

d-artagnan | all for advertising